tanja simonic korosak_850mb_013

The Napoli experience gave me some really interesting insights into my own attitude toward sketching. Although I have sketched and used sketchbooks since the days of primary school, at my professional work etc, it was time to bring this experience and a mode of living to another level. So here I am, promising to myself, and to you, to sketch  my city everyday and my first project is to celebrate with the city where I live – Maribor. I’ve created a new blog Sketch my city!, where I collect numbered sketches and will do so for the whole year, but here, at this site From my sketchbook I will occasionally comment sketching and sketches, discuss materials I use and perhaps even discuss places I should visit and sketch. I will use different techniques and publish the sketches on weekly bases.

tanja simonic korosak_850mb_001

So here is my Mission: ‘This is my personal way of celebrating 850 years of Maribor and the first written account of the Castle of Maribor, Slovenia. Maribor is a city where I live with my family. I have chosen to draw 850 sketches in one year. I will walk and cycle through the city and sketch its places, landscapes, events, and atmosphere in my sketchbooks. I am starting on summer solstice, June, 21, and will finish on June, 21 2015.’

Please check the Sketch my city! blog from time to time,  like it, share it!

