tanja simonic korosak_850mb_094 tanja simonic korosak_850mb_093 tanja simonic korosak_850mb_091

I thought to share some sketches of the fruiting beauties from my ‘Sketch my city! walks (Nos. 091, 093 & 094). The autumn is approaching and the proof for it grows along the paths of my everyday walks too. The sun loving shrubs grow along the path of the Kalvarija hill. All three are an ecological haven for all sorts of birds and insects. The Hawthorn (Crataegus) and the Dog rose (Rosa canina) are medicinal plants too, whereas consuming the Wayfarer tree (Viburnum) should definitely be avoided. All three have showy late summer and autumn fruits which are joy to sketch. Red, lush, and happy in the sun.

And yes, there was a green locust with shiny red eyes sitting on a leaf of the Wayfarer tree, waiting patiently for me to finish the sketch.

