tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 1

Let me start my sketchbook report from Berlin with these words, that I came across on my first outing in Berlin. I saw them in the outdoor exhibition on the banks of the Spree river and they read: ‘The most dangerous worldview of all worldviews is the worldview of those, who have never viewed the world’. They were written 200 years ago by Berliner Alexander von Humbold, naturalist, the founder of biogeography and the curious explorer of the world. So very true today too.

Sorry to say but I often see the evidence of people not taking the effort to view the world.  So I go places, search for the views, and sketch. To nurture my own worldview. This time I prepared a new sketchbook and I am proud to report that I managed to finish in one week all 140 pages while walking and cycling the streets, parks and museums of Berlin and Potsdam.

Check out my first day stroll route Berlin zum ersten Mal:

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 5

First starting with Alexander platz.

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 6

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 7

And then a walk past the red Rathaus. tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 8

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 9 A visit to Nikolaiviertel.

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 11 tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 10

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 12

Having a brunch by Spree river, with a view of Berliner Dom.

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 13

Passing the Altes Museum and the Lustgarten in front, where people were enjoying in the warm april sun.tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 15

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 16

A visit to Die Neue Wache. Architect K. F. Schinkel, Pieta by Kathe Kollwitz.

And visiting the memorial Denkmal fuer ermordeten Juden Europas by architect Peter Eisenman.

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 19 tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 20 tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 21

And an evening tea at Adelbert strasse.

tanja simonic korosak_berlin 2015 22

